Spohr, Rolla, Kalliwoda – Works for Violin and Viola CD



The Arrangements

Featuring three beautiful but lesser known chamber works for Violin / Viola duo, this disc contains works by Ludwig Spohr (also known as Louis Spohr), Alessandro Rolla and Johann Wenzel Kalliwoda performed by Vaughan Jones on violin and Reiad Chibah on viola.

“…energetic and pliantly authoritative…”Musicweb International

“…performances and recording are exemplary…”The Classical Source

“…three delightful duos for Violin and Viola…”New Classics

“…A good and unusual addition to the repertoire…”Bachtrack

“…impressively controlled flying staccato…” – The Strad Magazine

“…Brave and impressive performances…” – The Gramophone

“…Jones and Chibah attack these three works as if they were among the greatest compositions of all time, and succeed marvellously at making their listeners believe it. Their technical skills are wonderfully complimentary and the dialogue achieved between the two instrumentalists is completely conversational…”Allmusic.com

“…Here are two young artists turning to Spohr for their CD debut and this recording of the E minor duo comes up against the 2006 Capriccio disc by Antje Weithaas and Tabea Zimmerman, though that version gave us couplings of the two Mozart duos, K. 423 and K 424. The newcomers are certainly not outclassed by their more illustrious rivals; indeed, with a slightly livelier first movement and broader Adagio they score two plus points…” – The Spohr Society of Great Britain

“From the opening track to the disc’s finish this newly revived music is tasteful, pleasing and undemanding – the thoroughly involving performances serve all ten movements to the uttermost and Manor House Music’s recording defies criticism.” – Howard Smith (Music and Vision Daily)

Track listing

Ludwig Spohr – Duo in E minor for Violin and Viola Op. 13

  1. Allegro Moderato
  2. Adagio
  3. Tempo di Menuetto

Alessandro Rolla – Duo Concertant in C minor for Violin and Viola Op. 4 no. 2

  1. Adagio Ma Non Troppo – Allegro
  2. Adagio Ma Non Troppo
  3. Rondo: Allegretto

Johann Wenzel Kalliwoda – Duet in C for Violin and Viola Op .208 no. 1

  1. Adagio Sostenuto – Allegro Non Tanto
  2. Andante Moderato
  3. Scherzo: Prestissimo
  4. Allegro Risvegliato

Peformed by:

Violin – Vaughan Jones
Viola – Reiad Chibah

Recorded at MBJ Studios with special thanks to engineer Ben Jones.

Sleeve design and layout by Richard Bamsey.

Programme notes are in English and German.



There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Spohr, Rolla, Kalliwoda – Works for Violin and Viola CD”


  • UK postage and packaging is ¬£2.¬†Orders to countries outside the UK are charged ¬£3 postage and packaging.
  • If more than one disc is purchased, postage is charged at an additional 50 pence per disc.
  • We endeavour to despatch all orders by first class post within 48 hours of purchase.

Music Scores

  • Music scores are supplied as downloadable pdfs with multiple parts contained¬†within a single zip file.
  • You will receive a download link by email. The download link expires in 7 days. You must complete your download within this period.