While Shepherds Watched for String Quartet

By vaughan • 28th October 2010 • Posted in: Manor House Music Recordings

The fourth carol on the Manor House String Quartet‘s first disc of string quartet Christmas carol arrangements, entitled ‘I Saw Three Ships and other carols’ is another enduring favourite – ‘While Shepherds Watched’. This carol was originally called ‘Winchester Old’ and appears in Este’s Psalter of 1592 but the words weren’t added until Irish poet Nahum Tate (who was poet laureate) wrote them – first making an appearance in the 1700 supplement to the ‘New Version of the Psalms of David’ published in 1696.

string quartet Christmas carols

A tinsel-filled string quartet Christmas concert by the Manor House String Quartet

When violinist Vaughan Jones began arranging this carol for string quartet, a melody was added which seemed to compliment the existing tune very nicely. When a carol has such a distinctive melody as ‘While Shepherds Watched’, it isn’t necessary to become too elaborate with a string arrangement as it’s important to keep the character of the tune – without too much embellishment. Once Vaughan had the two melodies, all the Christmas carol then required was sympathetic string harmonies which weaved around the tune. Later on in the arrangement, the tune is joined by a very springy upward bass line (played by the cello) and lightly pulsating inner parts, which gives the piece real buoyancy.



Comments are closed.


Recent Posts


About Manor House Music

Manor House Music is a wedding string quartet and duo consisting of some of the UK’s finest musicians. Founded in 2005, and based on the borders of Buckinghamshire, Hertfordshire and Bedfordshire, we’ve now performed for over 800 weddings, corporate events and private functions. We combine a high quality of musical performance with a large repertoire of dynamic arrangements and a desire to work closely with clients to ensure that every detail is just right for your event.



Tel: 07870 171194
Email: Info@manorhousemusic.co.uk